Skip to content

School effectiveness

Governance training

Our termly training programme is offered both virtually and in a variety of locations across Devon and is available for all settings. Boards subscribing to our service can access many courses free of charge.

Contact the team for further information on 01392 287314 or by email: schoolgovernance@devon.gov.uk

Details of all our governance training and how to book can be found at our Devon Education Services shop.

Training opportunities for the spring term 2024

Introduction to governance for governors in maintained schools. Thursday 29 February, Exeter venue, 09.30-13.00.

Introduction to school governance in an academy trust (academy schools all tiers of governance) Tuesday 19 March, Exeter venue, 09.30-13.00

Effective Governance for School Leaders – NEW.  Tuesday 5 March, live interactive webinar, 10.30¬12.00

Heads, chairs and clerks – supporting the delivery of strategic governance.  Wednesday 13 March, Exeter venue, 09.30-14.00

Effective clerking

Induction for new clerks.  Wednesday 6 March, Live interactive webinar, 10.30-12.30

Clerking for a local governing body/hub within a MAT.  Tuesday 27 February, live interactive webinar, 10.30-12.00

Effective minute taking.  Tuesday 19 March, live interactive webinar, 10.30-12.30

Appeal panels for complaints and exclusions – the role of the clerk.  Thursday 7 March, live interactive webinar, 10.30-12.00

Clerk as an adviser.  Thursday 21 March, live interactive webinar, 10.00-11.30

Effective communication and managing challenging situations – for clerks and governance professionals – NEW.  Tuesday 29 February, live interactive webinar, 10.30-12.00

Key responsibilities

Understanding the primary curriculum Wednesday 20 March, live interactive webinar, 10.00-11.30

Pupil exclusions procedures  Thursday 14 March , live interactive webinar, 10.00-11.30

Secondary governance – making an impact  Thursday 14 March, live interactive webinar, 10.00-11.30

Lunchtime – bite sized sessions

Recruiting board members, Tuesday 27 February, live interactive webinar, 12.30-13.15

Attendance and behaviour, Thursday 7 March, live interactive webinar, 12.30-13.15

Budget planning and monitoring in maintained schools, Tuesday 26 March, live interactive webinar, 12.30-13.15

Governing the finances – Introduction for academy schools to register an interest in this session please contact us at schoolgovernance-mailbox@devon.gov.uk

If you have any queries regarding session content please contact the Governance Consultancy Team at schoolgovernance@devon.gov.uk or 01392 287314.

If you require help using the online booking system please contact educate.educationtraining-mailbox@devon.gov.uk  or 01392 287224.

Training opportunities for the summer term 2024

Introduction to governance for governors in maintained schools (A)

Wednesday 1 May, Live interactive webinar, 17.30-19.30

Thursday 20 June, In person event, 09.30-13.00

Introduction to governance and compliance at trust board level (academy trustees/directors) (A), Tuesday 7 May, Live interactive webinar, 17.30-19.30

Introduction for local or hub board members (academy schools) (A), Tuesday 2 July, Live interactive webinar, 17.30-19.30

Introduction to school governance in an academy trust (academies, all tiers of governance) (A), Thursday 27 June, Future Skills Centre, Exeter, 09.30-13.00

Leadership of the governing board (A), Thursday 23 May , Live interactive webinar, 10.00­-11.30

Developing your governing skills – the next step (A), Tuesday 14 May, Live interactive webinar, 10.00­-12.00

Heads, chairs and clerks – supporting the delivery of strategic governance (B), Thursday 13 June , In person event, 09.30-14.00

Induction for new clerks (A)

Tuesday 23 April, Live interactive webinar, 10.30-12.30

Tuesday 18 June, Future Skills Centre, Exeter, 10.00-13.00

Effective minute taking (B), Thursday 4 July, Live interactive webinar, 10.30-12.30

Appeal panels for complaints and exclusions – the role of the clerk (A), Wednesday 8 May, Live interactive webinar, 10.30-12.00

The clerk as an adviser (A), Tuesday 21 May, Live interactive webinar, 10.00-11.30

Effective communication and managing challenging situations – for clerks and governance professionals  (A), Thursday 6 June, Live interactive webinar, 10.30-12.00

The role of the governance professional (A), Tuesday 11 June, Live interactive webinar, 10.30-12.00

Clerks’ briefings (A)

Tuesday 30 April, Live interactive webinar, 10.30-12.00

Wednesday 1 May, In person event, 10.00-12.00

Thursday 2 May , Live interactive webinar, 17.00-18.30

The governance of safeguarding (A), Monday 22 April , Live interactive webinar, 10.00-11.30

Responsibilities of the safeguarding lead (B), Tuesday 4 June, Live interactive webinar, 13.00-14.30

Special educational needs and disabilities (SEND) (B), Tuesday 21 May , Live interactive webinar, 13.30-15.00

Understanding the primary curriculum (B), Wednesday 19 June, Live interactive webinar, 10.00-11.30

Headteacher appraisal – the role of governors and trustees (B),

Thursday 25 April, Live interactive webinar, 17.30-19.00

Wednesday 5 June, Live interactive webinar, 10.00-11.30

Pupil exclusion procedures (A), Tuesday 9 July , Live interactive webinar, 10.00-11.30

Complaints – prevention and managing (A), Wednesday 26 June , Live interactive webinar, 10.00-11.30

Secondary governance – making an impact  (A), Tuesday 25 June, Live interactive webinar, 17.30-19.00

Ofsted – what the board should expect and how to prepare (A),  Thursday 2 May, Live interactive webinar, 10.30-11.30

The role of members in a MAT (A), Wednesday 10 July, Live interactive webinar, 12.30-13.15

Visiting your school (A),  Tuesday 11 June, Live interactive webinar, 12.30-13.15

Parent engagement – a governance perspective (A), Thursday 16 May, Live interactive webinar, 12.30-13.15

Supporting school leaders health and wellbeing (A), Tuesday 18 June, Live interactive webinar, 12.30-13.15

Introduction to governing finances in maintained schools  (A), Wednesday 1 May, Live interactive webinar, 12.30-13.15

Budget planning and monitoring in maintained schools (A), Wednesday 22 May, Live interactive webinar, 12.30-13.15

Governing the finances – Introduction for academy schools (A) To register an interest in this session please contact us at schoolgovernance-mailbox@devon.gov.uk

‘A’ sessions are at 100% discount for subscribing schools.  ‘B’ sessions are at a 65% discount for standard subscribers and 100% discount for premium subscribers.   Non-subscribing schools are very welcome to attend any sessions of their choice, prices can be seen on our online shop.

How to apply

All course bookings should be made online via the Devon Education Services Shop:

Training, conferences and professional development | DES (devoneducationservices.co.uk)

If you have not booked using this system before, you will need to register as a ‘New User’. Alternatively, ask your clerk to governors to make the booking on your behalf.

If you have any queries regarding session content please contact the Governance Consultancy Team at schoolgovernance@devon.gov.uk or 01392 287314.

If you require help using the online booking system please contact educate.educationtraining-mailbox@devon.gov.uk  or 01392 287224.


Top