Skip to content

Site monitoring

The County Council carry out monitoring visits for all mineral and landfill sites to ensure compliance with the terms of their planning permissions. This includes checking compliance with conditions and legal agreements and ensuring that unauthorised developments are regularised or removed. Each site is monitored from the implementation of their planning permission to the end of the aftercare period.

We aim to visit each site at least once a year, but the number of visits will depend on a number of factors, including the size of the site, the complexity of the site, the number of issues at the site and the stage of the development. Monitoring visits are chargeable, and the fees and conditions for this are set out by Regulation 15 of the Town and Country Planning (Fees for Applications, Deemed Application, Requests and Site Visits) (England) Regulations 2012.

Below you can view the reports from monitoring visits that have been carried out since April 2016, the reports will become available soon after the visit takes place.

For more information on enforcement and monitoring please read our Monitoring and Enforcement Plan. You can report breaches of planning control relating to a permitted site, or an unauthorised development, here.


North Devon

Bray Valley Quarries-

Claypits Coverts-

Hearson Quarry-

Old Mortehoe Quarry-

Plaistow Quarry-

Venn Quarry-

Vyse Quarry-


Babeleigh Wood Quarry-

Beam Quarry-

Newbridge Quarry-

Peters Marland Ball Clay Site-

Mid Devon

Dunn’s Hill Quarry-

Hillhead Quarry-

Lower Whipcott Quary-

Pondground, Beacon and Hoking Hill-

Westleigh Quarries-

Whiteball Quarry/Town Farm Quarry-

East Devon

Beer Quarry-

Blackhill Quarry-

Dunscombe Manor Quarry-

Hayes Quarry-

Rockbeare Quarry-

Uplyme Quarry-

Venn Ottery –


Pinhoe Quarry-


Babcombe/Sands Copse Quarry-

Bovey Basin – Central Area-

Chudleigh Knighton/Clay Lane-

Denistone and Broadway-

East Golds Marshes-

Haldon Quarry-

Newbridge Ball Clay Works-



Palace Quarry-

Stoneycombe Quarry-

Trusham Quarry-

Whitecleave Quarry-

Zig Zag Quarry-

South Hams

Hemerdon Mine-

Headon and Smallhanger Quarry-

Headon Quarry-

Lee Moor/Smallhanger Quarry-

Lee Moor Sand Quarry-

Lee Moor and Shaugh Lake-

Shaugh Quarry-

Steer Point Quarry-

New England Quarry-

West Devon

Knowle Quarry-

Meeth Quarry-

Mill Hill Quarry-


North Devon

Holmacott Landfill Site-

Little Silver Landfill Site-

Yelland Ash Beds Landfill-

Yelland Transfer Station and Concrete Plant-


Deepmoor Landfill Site-

Mid Devon

Broadpath Landfill Site-

Jersey Farm Land Site-

East Devon

Hill Barton Landfill Site-

Lickey’s Field Landfill Site-

Watchford Farm Landfill Site-


Dainton Landfill Site-

Heathfield Landfill Site-

Higher Oxencombe Landfill Site-

Kenbury Wood Landfill Site-

Springdale Landfill Site-

Trood Lane Landfill Site-

Yannon Lane Landfill Site-

 Bickley Ball-

South Hams

Marlands Landfill Site-