The Care Certificate is a national induction programme for health and social care workers in England.

CQC Fundamental Standards section 19 (1b) states

‘The Care Certificate sets out explicitly the learning outcomes, competences and standards of care that will be expected in the health and social care sector, ensuring that new members of staff are caring, compassionate and provide quality care.’

DCC provider version is called: Induction – Done well!

Please use the following resources:

How to assess:

Guidance for Team Leaders and other people involved in an Induction on how to support learning and assess competence. Team Leaders must read this information when starting to plan and support an Induction.


The Care Certificate has 15 Standards. We have put together information to guide staff through the national Care Certificate Standards, DCC organisational standards and workplace specific standards at the same time – this reduces duplication and helps staff to be ready for their role.

The Care Certificate is designed to be transferable across all health and social care services. Therefore the Skills for Care workbooks need to be completed. 

Induction – Done well!

Checklist to guide Team Leaders on how to support a good induction and for new staff to record their achievements (there is one for  direct care staff and one for ancillary staff)

Also available

DCC Approach to the Care Certificate:

details how the care Certificate works in DCC; who takes responsibility for it; how it fits with other qualifications; to be clarified

Managers Induction:

New Manager Resource Pack available on Learning Pool: course category Developing Skills/Developing People (or search ‘New Managers Resource Pack’).

Find Training Courses