Skip to content

Which roads do you salt/grit?

The primary salting network is made up of the major routes where the majority of vehicle movements take place and also includes accesses to hospitals, ambulance stations, fire stations, other emergency service establishments, railway stations, airports and secondary schools. The length of the 37 routes which form the primary salting network is 20% of the road network.

The following criteria are used to determine which roads are salted:

Strategic routes
All A and B roads and C roads classified as high-speed routes.

Traffic flow
Routes with February two-way flows greater than 1000 vehicles per day.

Settlement population
Main access route to settlements with a population of 500 or greater as provided by Devon County Council’s Strategic Intelligence unit.

Emergency premises
Main access route to 24hr emergency services premises, defined as “Emergency premises with 24-hour access” include: ambulance stations, full-time and retained fire stations, hospitals with 24-hour casualty departments and police stations manned 24 hours.

Cottage and community hospitals
Main highway access route to strategic cottage and community hospitals as notified to the authority by Devon Primary Care Trust.

Secondary schools (including independent secondary schools)
Main highway access to secondary schools.

Bus routes
Bus routes with a service interval of at least 15 minutes within any one hour of the day, in one direction of travel or where a combination of multiple bus services meet this criteria.

Main highway access to regional airports.

Railway stations
Main highway access to mainline and branch line railway stations.

Adjoining highway authority salting networks
Agreement to ensure consistency of action across boundaries.

Park and Ride sites
The bus loop of Park and Ride sites.

Comments are closed.