Skip Navigation | Graphical Site | Access Options | Listen | Translation | Help | A to Z | Site Map

You are in: home >

Friday 21 July 2017

Children & Families | Culture & Heritage | Economy & Enterprise | Environment & Planning | Jobs & Careers | Education and Learning | People & Community | Safety & Emergencies | Social Care & Health | Transport & Roads |

Fund Information

The Local Government Pension Scheme (LGPS) is one of the oldest public sector schemes in operation, having been established as a national scheme in 1922. There are about 1.5 million employees currently contributing to the LGPS in England and Wales; roughly 75% of the local government workforce. They contribute to the LGPS via any one of the 88 regional pension funds in England and Wales.

The Devon LGPS is managed by Devon County Council. Rules by which the administering authorities must operate - the LGPS Regulations - are determined by the Government after consultation with employee and employer representatives, trade unions, the Local Government Association and the Local Government Pensions Committee. The latter represent a total of 409 local authorities in England and Wales, along with numerous Town, Parish and Community Councils.

Each LGPS administering authority pays its benefits from a dedicated pension fund to which both the scheme member and their employer have contributed. Contributions paid into the scheme are invested in a variety of stocks and shares that are overseen by the funds investment management team. Please visit the investment section on this website for further information.

As of 31st March 2008, the net assets of the Devon County Council Pension Fund were valued at £2,158 million. The fund itself currently has 36,346 actively contributing members, employed by 83 employers of various description (Unitary, District, Town & Parish Councils, Education Establishments and Admitted Bodies). Pensions are paid to 21,206 pensioners (and/or dependants) every month. There are currently 19,293 members with rights to deferred benefits.

The LGPS is contracted-out of the State Second Pension (S2P) and must, in general, provide benefits at least as good as most members would have received had they been members of S2P.

Fund Name Devon Pension Fund
Head of Devon Pension Services Charlotte Thompson      01392 688210
Scheme Administrator Devon Pension Services
Estuary House
Peninsula Park
Exeter          EX2 7XB
Investment Manager Barry White                       01392 383621
Investment Team Devon Investment Services
County Hall
Topsham Road
Exeter          EX2 4QJ
Solicitor County Solicitor                01392 382285
Investment & Pension Fund Committee (at 1 October 2009)
Representing Devon County Council Councillor Sara Randall-Johnson (Chairman)
Councillor Paula Black
Councillor Jerry Brook
Councillor Richard Edgell
Councillor Brian Greenslade
Councillor Des Hannon
Councilor Andrew Moulding
Councillor Barry Parsons (Vice Chairman)
Councillor Ray Radford
Councillor Philip Sanders
Councillor Brenda Taylor
Councillor Richard Westlake
Representing Devon Unitary & District Councils Councillor Peter Edwards (Exeter -LGA Devon ) (substitute Cllr M Howarth)
Councillor Peter Smith (Plymouth) (substitute Cllr Mark Lowry )
Councillor David Stark (Plymouth) (substitute Cllr John Mahony)
Councillor John Thomas (Torbay)
    Representing the Contributors Roberto Franceschini, Mrs Lorraine Parker
    Representing the Beneficiaries Colin Lomax
Adviser Norman Ferguson
Investment Managers Devon County Council Investment Team
Managers State Street Global Advisors (UK) Ltd
UBS Global Asset Management (UK) Ltd
County Council Officers Phil Norrey       Chief Executive
Mary Davis        Director of Finance
Barry White      Investment Manager
Charlotte Thompson      Head of Devon Pension Services
Actuary Hewitt Associates Ltd

Back to top 21-7-2017