Public Services in Devon

Local authorities - who does what ?

Most of Devon operates in a three-tier system of local government with services provided by Devon County Council, the local District Council and over 400 Town and Parish Councils.

The County Council  and the unitary authorities share responsibility for

All of these authorities are increasingly working together in a wide range of partnerships to deliver real improvements to service delivery in local communities through local area agreements, partnerships with health authorities, eGovernment projects and many others.

The table below shows which services are provided by the County Council only, which are provided by the County and District councils working together and which are provided by District and or Parish/Town councils only.

County Council OnlyCounty Council Joint responsibility with DistrictsDistrict and/or Parish/Town Councils Only
Adult EducationCanals and Waterways Allotments
Concessionary Fares Community Transport Car Parks
Consumer Protection Country Parks Cemeteries
Education Economic Development Electoral Administration
Highways Emergency Planning Environmental Health
Libraries and ArchivesEnvironmental Protection Housing
Public Transport Financial Support for Voluntary Organisations Leisure
Registration - Births, Deaths & Marriages Industrial Units Licensing
Road Safety Museums and Arts Litter
School Transport Public Rights of Way Parks and open spaces
Social Services Recycling Planning Applications
Strategic Planning Street Lighting Revenue Collection
Trading StandardsTourism Public Toilets
Traffic Management  Waste Collection
Transport Planning   
Waste Disposal