Environment and Economy Overview / Scrutiny

Committee Agenda

Mon Mar 06 2006

Related Documents:
minutes for this agenda

A meeting of the Environment Economy Overview/Scrutiny Committee will be held on the above date at 10.00 a.m. at County Hall, Exeter to consider the following matters.

P. Jenkinson

Chief Executive



1. Minutes of the ordinary and budget meeting held on 18 January 2006 (Previously circulated).

2. Items Requiring Urgent Attention

Items which in the opinion of the Chairman should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency.

3. Executive Forward Plan

The current Forward Plan is available on the County Council s web site, Information Devon at

4. Executive Member for Culture

Councillor Hobden to present an overview of her Executive remit and to answer Members questions.

Report of the Deputy Chief Executive and County Environment Director (ED/06/47/HQ - pdf ED/06/47/HQ) (Page 5) for information.

5. Investigation into the Adequacy of Utility Reinstatements Countywide Coring Programme 2005

Report of the County Environment Director (ED/06/35/HQ - pdf ED/06/35/HQ) (Page 9).

6. Performance Monitoring: 2004/05 Comparisons and 2005/06 Quarterly Progress

Report of the Director of Personnel and Performance (PP/06/02) (TO FOLLOW).

7. Work Programme

Report of the Chief Executive (CX/06/22) (Page 13).

8. Next Meeting

The next meeting is due to be held on Monday 12 June 2006 at 10am County Hall, Exeter.




All recommendations contained in any reports to be considered at this meeting are subject to confirmation by the Environment Economy Overview/Scrutiny Committee before taking effect.

Members are reminded that Part II reports contain exempt information and should therefore be treated accordingly. They should not be disclosed or passed on to any other person(s).

Members are also reminded of the need to dispose of such reports carefully and are therefore urged to return them to the Committee Secretary at the conclusion of the meeting for disposal.


Webcasting of Meetings

The proceedings of this meeting may be recorded for broadcasting on the internet via the County Council s website Information Devon . The whole of the meeting will be broadcast apart from any confidential items which may need to be considered in the absence of the press and public.


Councillors S Hughes (Chairman), Berry, Browning, Cann, Mrs Foggin, Fowler, Giles,

Hannaford, Hook (Vice-Chairman), Hosking, B Hughes, Mrs Jenkins, Nicholson, Way and Yabsley

Declaration of Interests

Members are reminded that they must declare any interest they may have in any item to be considered at this meeting, prior to any discussion taking place on that item.

Access to Information

Any person wishing to inspect any minutes, reports or lists of background papers relating to any item on this agenda should contact Brian Wilkinson on the telephone number shown at the top of the agenda.


Agendas and minutes of this Committee together with officers reports considered by the Committee are published online on the Council s Website at:


Access to County Hall

Access to County Hall is restricted and all visitors are requested to report to the Main Reception. Car parking facilities on site are limited. Provision for disabled parking is available. It is advisable to contact County Hall Main Reception in advance on 01392 382504. See attached sheet for Public Transport Links.


Car Parking and Security

All visitors to the Committee Suite are requested to report to Main Reception. If arriving by car please enter the campus via the Topsham Road entrance. Access to the parking area is by video/audio intercom. Car parking for visitors is limited (Car park A). There is limited off-street car parking around the County Hall campus. Public car parking can be found at the Cathedral Quay or Magdalen Road Car Parks (approximate 20 minutes walk).

Access to County Hall and Public Transport Links

Bus Services K, T and S operate from the High Street to County Hall (Topsham Road). To return to the High Street use Services K, T and R. Local Services from Dawlish, Teignmouth, Newton Abbot, Exmouth, Plymouth and Torbay all stop in Barrack Road, approximately 5 minutes walk from County Hall. Park and Ride Services operate from Sowton and Marsh Barton Industrial Estates with bus services direct to the High Street.

The nearest mainline railway stations are Exeter Central (5 minutes from the High Street) and St David s and St Thomas s both of which have regular bus services to the High Street.

Car Sharing

Carsharing allows people to benefit from the convenience of the car, whilst alleviating the associated problems of congestion and pollution. For more information please look at the Council's website: http://www.carsharedevon.com

Fire/Emergency Instructions

In the event of a fire or other emergency please note the following instructions.

If you discover a fire, immediately inform the nearest member of staff and/or operate the nearest fire alarm. On hearing a fire alarm leave the building by the nearest available exit. The County Hall Stewardesses will help direct you. Do not stop to collect personal belongings. Do not use the lifts. Assemble either on the cobbled car parking area adjacent to the administrative buildings or in the car park behind Bellair House, as shown on the site map above.

You should remain at the assembly point until you receive further instructions. Do not re-enter the building without being told to do so.

First Aid

Contact Main Reception (extension 2504) for a trained first aider. A list of First Aiders is displayed in each Committee Room.

Date Published: Fri Mar 03 2006