Investment and Pension Fund

Committee Agenda

Fri Feb 08 2008

Related Documents:
minutes for this agenda

A meeting of the Investment and Pension Fund Committee will be held on the above date at 10.00 am at County Hall, Exeter to consider the following matters.


Chief Executive


1. Apologies for absence

2. Minutes of the meeting held on 2 November 2007 (Page 4).

3. Items requiring urgent attention

Items which in the opinion of the Chairman should be considered at the meeting as matters of urgency.

4 Action Taken Since Last Committee

5 Committee Training Days

Feedback from 23 November 2007 Training Day

6. Actuarial Valuation of the Devon Fund at 31 March 2007

Report of the Director of Finance, IT Trading (FI/08/12 - text onlyFI/08/12) (Page 7).

7. Local Government Pension Scheme (LGPS) - Administration

Report of the Director of Finance, IT Trading (FI/08/14 - text onlyFI/08/14) (Page 9).

8. Appointment of Global Custodian

Director of Finance, IT Trading to report

9. Membership of Investment Pension Fund Committee

Director of Finance, IT Trading to report

10. Governance Compliance Statement

Report of the Director of Finance, IT Trading (FI/08/13 - text onlyFI/08/13) (Page 12).

11. Investment Management New Money Report

Report of the Director of Finance, IT Trading (FI/08/15 - text onlyFI/08/15) (Page 18).

12. Dates of Future Meetings

Information on future meeting dates is shown below. The Committee will meet at 10.00am on the following dates:

9 May 2008, 1 August 2008, 31 October 2008 and 6 February 2009.




All recommendations contained in any Reports to be considered at this meeting are subject to approval by the Committee.

Members are reminded that Part II Reports contain exempt information and should therefore be treated accordingly. They should not be disclosed or passed on to any other person(s).

Members are also reminded of the need to dispose of such reports carefully and are therefore urged to return them to the Committee Secretary at the conclusion of the meeting for disposal


Devon County Council

Councillors Mrs Wragg (Chairman), Brook, Button, Clatworthy, Connelly, Cox, Date, Haywood, Radford and Shadrick (Vice-Chairman)

Unitary and District Councils

Councillors Stark and Vacancy (Plymouth), Edwards (Exeter - LGA Devon), Thomas (Torbay)

Substitute members: Councillors Ms Ford (for Stark), Smith (for Plymouth Vacancy)

Union and retired Members: Observers Non-Voting

Mr. Franceschini, Mr. Lomax and Mrs. Parker

Access to Information

Any person wishing to inspect any minutes, reports or lists of background papers relating to any item on this agenda should contact Mr. Wilkinson on the telephone number shown at the top of this agenda.


Agendas and minutes of this Committee are published on the Information Devon Website at:-

Declaration of Interests

Members are reminded that they must declare any interest they may have in any item to be considered at this meeting, prior to any discussion taking place on that item.

Copies of this Agenda and/or Reports may be made available in other formats (e.g. large print, audio tape, Braille or other languages). Please contact the Information Centre on 01392 380101 for more information.


Car Parking and Security

All visitors to the Committee Suite are requested to report to Main Reception. If arriving by car please enter the campus via the Topsham Road entrance. Access to the parking area is by video/audio intercom. If you are hearing impaired please indicate by pointing to your ears. If you are unable to use the intercom please show your Blue Badge to the windscreen. Car parking for visitors is limited (Car park A). There is limited on-street pay display car parking around the County Hall campus. Public car parking can be found at the Cathedral Quay or Magdalen Road Car Parks (approx 20 minutes walk).

Access to County Hall and Public Transport Links

Bus Services K, T and S operate from the High Street to County Hall (Topsham Road). To return to the High Street use Services K, T and R. Local Services to and from Dawlish, Teignmouth, Newton Abbot, Exmouth, Plymouth and Torbay all stop in Barrack Road, approximately 5 minutes walk from County Hall. Park and Ride Services also operate from Sowton and Marsh Barton Industrial Estates with bus services direct to the High Street.

The nearest mainline railway stations are Exeter Central (5 minutes from the High Street) and St David s and St Thomas s both of which have regular bus services to the High Street. Bus Service H (which runs from St David s Station to the High Street) continues and stops in Wonford Road (at the top of Matford Lane shown on the map) a 2/3 minute walk from County Hall, en route to the RDE Hospital (itself only approximately 10 minutes walk from County Hall, through the Gras Lawn estate on Barrack Road).

Car Sharing

Carsharing allows people to benefit from the convenience of the car, whilst alleviating the associated problems of congestion and pollution. For more information please look at the Council's website:

Cycle Facilities

Cycle stands are available outside County Hall Main Reception and the Lucombe House building. A map of Exeter cycle routes can be found at:

Fire/Emergency Instructions

In the event of a fire or other emergency please note the following instructions. If you discover a fire, immediately inform the nearest member of staff and/or operate the nearest fire alarm. On hearing a fire alarm leave the building by the nearest available exit. The County Hall Stewardesses will help direct you. Do not stop to collect personal belongings. Do not use the lifts. Assemble either on the cobbled car parking area adjacent to the administrative buildings or in the car park behind Bellair House, as shown on the site map above. You should remain at the assembly point until you receive further instructions. Do not re-enter the building without being told to do so.

First Aid

Contact Main Reception (extension 2504) for a trained first aider. A list of First Aiders is displayed in each Committee Room.

Date Published: Fri Feb 01 2008