Devon Authorities Waste Reduction and Recycling

Committee Agenda

Wed Jun 22 2011

Related Documents:
minutes for this agenda

A meeting of the Devon Authorities Waste Reduction and Recycling Committee will be held on the above date at 2.00pm at County Hall, Exeter to consider the following matters.

P NORREY

Chief Executive

A G E N D A

PART I OPEN COMMITTEE

1. Apologies for Absence

2. Election of Chairman

[NB: In accordance with the Committee s Constitution the Chairman of the Committee for the 2011/12 Municipal Year shall be a District Council Group nominee].

3. Election of Vice-Chairman

[NB: In accordance with the Committee s Constitution the Vice-Chairman of the Committee for the 2011/12 Municipal Year shall be a County Council Unitary Authority Group nominee].

4. Minutes of the meeting held on 9 February 2011, attached (Page 6).

5. Items Requiring Urgent Attention

Items which in the opinion of the Chairman should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency.

6. DAWRRC Small Bodies Return

Report of the Head of Capital Development and Waste Management (CDW/11/6 - text only | pdf CDW/11/6), attached (Page 10).

Electoral Division(s): All in Devon

7. Budget Out-turn for 2010-11

Report of the Head of Capital Development and Waste Management (CDW/11/1 - text only | pdf CDW/11/1), attached (Page 35).

Electoral Division(s): All in Devon

8. Recycling Statistics for 2010 - 11

Report of the Head of Capital Development and Waste Management (CDW/11/2 - text only | pdf CDW/11/2), attached (Page 41).

Electoral Division(s): All in Devon

9. Recycling Banks at Tesco Stores

Report of the Waste Strategy and Recycling Officer, Mid Devon District Council (CDW/11/3 - text only | pdf CDW/11/3), attached (Page 60).

Electoral Division(s): All in Devon

10. Waste Education Strategy 2001 - 2014

Report of the Head of Capital Development and Waste Management (CDW/11/4 - text only | pdf CDW/11/4), attached (Page 66).

Electoral Division(s): All in Devon

11. Recycling Credits Guidance - Progress Report

Report of the Head of Capital Development and Waste Management (CDW/11/5 - text only | pdf CDW/11/5), attached (Page 83).

Electoral Division(s): All in Devon

12. Don t let Devon go to waste

Presentation by the Head of Capital Development and Waste Management.

Electoral Division(s): All in Devon

13. Future Meetings

To note that meetings are scheduled as follows:

Wednesday 26 October 2011

Tuesday 7 February 2012

(both 2.00pm at County Hall).

PART II - ITEMS WHICH MAY BE TAKEN IN THE ABSENCE OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

Nil.


Members are reminded that Part II Reports contain confidential information and should therefore be treated accordingly. They should not be disclosed or passed on to any other person(s).

Members are also reminded of the need to dispose of such reports carefully and are therefore urged to return them to the Committee Secretary at the conclusion of the meeting for disposal.

MEMBERS ARE REQUESTED TO SIGN THE ATTENDANCE REGISTER

Membership

Please see overleaf.

Declaration of Interests

Members are reminded that they must declare any interest they may have in any item to be considered at this meeting, prior to any discussion taking place on that item.

Access to Information

Any person wishing to inspect any minutes, reports or lists of background papers relating to any item on this agenda should contact Peter Stiles on 01392 382289.

Internet

Agendas and minutes of this Committee together with officers reports considered by the Committee are published on the County Council s Website at:

http://www.devon.gov.uk/index/councildemocracy/decision_making/cma/index_she.htm

Webcasting of Meetings

The proceedings of this meeting may be recorded for broadcasting on the internet via the County Council s website Information Devon . The whole of the meeting will be broadcast apart from any confidential items which may need to be considered in the absence of the press and public. For more information go to:

http://www.devon.gov.uk/index/councildemocracy/decision_making/webcasting.htm

Emergencies

In the event of the fire alarm sounding, leave the building immediately by the nearest available exit, following the fire exit signs. If doors fail to unlock press the Green breakglass next to the door. Do not stop to collect personal belongings, do not use the lifts, do not re-enter the building until told to do so.

Mobile Phones

Please switch off all mobile phones before entering the Committee Room or Council Chamber

Copies of this Agenda and/or Reports may be made available in other formats (e.g. large print, audio tape, Braille or other languages). Please contact the Information Centre on 01392 380101 for more information.



Devon County Council

Email address

Voting/non-voting member

Officer

Email address

Councillor J Berry

John.berry@devon.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mr B Jennings

Ms L Poulter

ben.jennings@devon.gov.uk

liz.poulter@devon.gov.uk

Councillor M Walters

Mike.walters@devon.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mr B Jennings

Ms L Poulter

ben.jennings@devon.gov.uk

liz.poulter@devon.gov.uk

Councillor G Hook

Gordon.Hook@devon.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mr B Jennings

Ms L Poulter

ben.jennings@devon.gov.uk

liz.poulter@devon.gov.uk

Unitary Councils

Councillor D Thomas (Torbay)

david.thomas@torbay.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mrs C Arthur

carol.arthur@torbay.gov.uk

Councillor I Gordon (Plymouth)

ian.gordon@plymouth.gov.uk

Voting Member

Ms L Schamotta

laura.schamotta@plymouth.gov.uk

Councillor Michael Leaves (Plymouth)

Michael.leaves@plymouth.gov.uk

Voting Member

Ms L Schamotta

laura.schamotta@plymouth.gov.uk

District Councils

Councillor P Yabsley (N Devon)

Paul.yabsley@northdevon.gov.uk

Voting Member

Gary Pilling

Gary.pillling@northdevon.gov.uk; Rex.bassett@northdevon.gov.uk; Lesley.isaac@northdevon.gov.uk

Councillor G Sheldon (Exeter)

cllr.greg.sheldon@exeter.gov.uk

Voting Member

Ms P Lane

Penelope.lane@exeter.gov.uk

Councillor K Lake (Teignbridge)

Kevin.lake@teignbridge.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mr C Braines

chris.braines@teignbridge.gov.uk

Councillor A Symons (Torridge)

adam.symons@torridge.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mr R Haste

Richard.haste@torridge.gov.uk

Councillor M Lucas (M Devon)

mlucas@middevon.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mr S Hill

sphill@middevon.gov.uk

Councillor J Hawkins (S Hams)

Cllr.Hawkins@southhams.gov.uk

Voting Member

Andy Barron

Andy.barron@southhams.gov.uk

Councillor R Oxborough (W Devon)

cllr.robert.oxborough@westdevon.gov.uk

Voting Member

Andy Barron

abarron@westdevon.gov.uk

Councillor D Cox (E Devon)

dcox@members.eastdevon.gov.uk; davidjcox@btinternet.com

Voting Member

Mr P Deakin

pdeakin@eastdevon.gov.uk

Devon Association of Parish Councils

Cllr R Hawes

'rhawes46@hotmail.com'

Non Voting Member

DCRN

Mr R Gomme

info@dcrn.org.uk

Non Voting Member

Environment Agency

Ann Riley

Ann.riley@environment-agency.gov.uk

Non Voting Member

Revised 16-Jun-11


Date Published: Thu Jun 16 2011