My Favourites -

  • Your favourite pages will be shown here

My Recently Viewed -

  • No other pages viewed

accessibility -

Set Text Size

Extra Large

Set Contrast


Resident Parking

Exeter Residents Parking

Residents Parking in the streets around the University of Exeter


There are already a number of existing residents’ parking schemes around the centre of Exeter which have been introduced gradually since the late 1980s.

These schemes have worked with some success to the advantage of residents and other permit holders, with access to on-street parking limited to permit holders in these areas.

However, with the many new developments and redevelopments in the vicinity of the University it is likely that there will be further pressure on on-street parking in these areas. In order to compensate for this, the planning agreements for these developments have included funding for consultation and, if agreed, two further areas of residents' parking.

These areas are around West Garth Road, for the Thomas Hall development and the Beech Avenue/Rosebarn Avenue area for the Lafrowda development.

In addition to the above, a scheme of restrictions for the Cowley Bridge Road & Lower Argyll Road areas has recently been advertised. The comments received to these proposals identified a need for residents parking and this been incorporated into the latest proposals for the area.

The Consultation Process

Following a public exhibition at Reed Hall on 20 October 2010, the local councillors reviewed the comments that were submitted. The amended scheme was then presented to the Exeter Highways and Traffic Orders Committee (HATOC). The committee resolved to formally advertise the proposals.

The proposals were advertised for a second time from the 16 May until the 7 June 2011. The comments submitted were reviewed before a final decision was made by the Exeter HATOC on 21st July 2011.

The Exeter HATOC resolved:

(a) that traffic regulation orders as detailed on plan nos. B2300021\C.01A\0007, B2300021\C.01A\0001 and B2300021\C.01A\0013 be made and sealed as amended in the report;

(b) the operation of the schemes and potential for any extension be reviewed at a future date as funding permits.

What Happens Next?

November / December 2011 Residents notified of implementation of scheme and sent details on how to apply for permits via Devon Permits
January 2012 Works begin
1 February 2012

Traffic Regulation Orders are sealed

Pay & Display and Residents Parking Schemes go live

February/March 2012 Errors identified with Traffic Regulation Order and enforcement suspended of the new yellow lines and short-stay free parking places within the area
1 October 2012

Revised Traffic Regulation Order sealed and enforcement of the new yellow lines and short-stay free parking places within the area begins

New residents' parking permits, valid until 31 October 2013, issued free of charge to replace any existing permits

The Schemes

The roads affected by the residents parking schemes include:

Beech Avenue Area
(Pennsylvania Extension Zone S4)
West Garth Road Area
(Zone S5)
  • Beech Avenue
  • Curlew Way
  • Daleside Road
  • Kingfisher Drive
  • Lark Close
  • Moorview Close
  • Oriole Drive
  • Pennsylvania Park
  • Pennsylvania Road (between Hoopern Avenue and Rosebarn Lane)
  • Raven Close
  • Rosebarn Avenue
  • Rosebank Crescent
  • Sylvan Avenue
  • Sylvan Road
  • Allington Mead
  • Cherry Tree Close
  • Cowley Bridge Road (between Wrefords Drive and Johnsons)
  • Ridgeway
  • Roundhill Close
  • West Garth Road
  • Woodleigh Close
  • Wrefords Close
  • Wrefords Drive
  • Wrefords Lane
  • Wrefords Link
Lower Argyll Road Area
(Duyrard Extension Zone S3)
  • Copplestone Drive
  • Cowley Bridge Road (nos. 1 to 8)
  • Lower Argyll Road

As part of the changes, additional double yellow lines will be marked in Lebanon Close, Lyncombe Close and Yew Tree Close.

The new scheme can be viewed on our online mapping system traffweb

Contact Us:

If you have any questions regarding the proposals then please contact us using the details below

Traffic Orders & Policy Team
Devon County Council
County Hall

Or email:trafficorders@devon.gov.uk

Or telephone 0845 155 1004

Downloads & Links

Beech Avenue Area
(Pennsylvania Extension Zone S4)
West Garth Road Area
(Zone S5)
Lower Argyll Road Area
(Duryard Extension Zone S3)