Devon's Landscape

Devon's landscape character assessment

Devon Landscape

Devon’s landscape character assessment describes the variations in character between different areas and types of landscape in the county. It provides an evidence base for local development frameworks and plans, articulating what people perceive as distinctive and special about all landscapes in Devon. It also set out strategies and guidelines for the protection, management and planning of the landscape.

You might be interested in...

Around 80 people attended three training workshops in March 2013 on the use of landscape character assessments in planning and land management. The presentations given at the workshops (held in Totnes, Exeter and Tiverton) are reproduced here:

What information does the Devon Landscape Character Assessment contain?

Devon has been divided into unique geographical areas sharing similar character and recognisable at different scales:

  • 7 National Character Areas, named to an area recognisable on a National scale e.g. ‘Dartmoor’. These are identified by Natural England. Each National Character Area is further subdivided into...
  • 68 Devon Character Areas, named to an area sharing a unique and distinct identity recognisable on a county scale e.g. ‘Southern Dartmoor and fringes’. View interactive map of Devon Character Areas, or go straight to Devon Character area profiles. These are further subdivided into...
  • 37 Landscape Character Types (LCTs), each sharing similar characteristics. Some types of landscape occur throughout the county (for example ‘sparsely settled farmed valley floors’) whilst others may occur only once or twice (for example ‘upland moorland with tors’).View Menu and key characteristics of Landscape Character Types in Devon image - PDF icon (71KB - pdf help). Landscape Character Types as they occur in each local authority are described in your local landscape character assessment, along with other landscape information. Click on the map below to find out about your local landscape character assessment.

Landscape - Map Exeter Torbay Plymouth North Devon Exeter Torbay Exmoor Exmoor Blackdown Hills ANOB Blackdown Hills ANOB East Devon Mid Devon South Hams Plymouth Teignbridge Teignbridge North Devon AONB North Devon AONB Dartmoor Torridge North Devon West Devon

The following document summarises the Information found in the DLCA image - PDF icon (47KB - pdf help).

Find Out More


How was the Devon Landscape Character Assessment created?

The Devon Landscape Character Assessment follows nationally recognised guidelines, and  was undertaken in three stages following the Living Landscape Methodology devised for Devon by Diacono Associates:

Stage 1 was completed as a County-wide study, and involved a desk study to identify ‘Land Description Units’. These are the smallest landscape areas of common character, based on geographical information including geology, landform, vegetation and land use.

Stage 2 was completed by individual District Councils, AONB areas and Dartmoor National Park. It involved field survey work verifying findings from the desk study and resulted in the identification of ‘Landscape Character Types’ occurring in Devon.

Stage 3 was completed as a County-wide study. This identified Devon Character Areas to give an overview of the landscape as a whole, building on an understanding of the constituent Landscape Character Types and Land Description Units. This involved an iterative process of familiarisation, desk study and field survey, followed by classification and description. Stakeholder engagement was carried out with the Devon Landscape Policy Group, workshops were held and the public provided online input. The final Devon Character Areas and profiles were then produced. It drew on the findings of Stage 2 to identify ‘Devon Character Areas’. Each area has a written profile.


How does the Devon Landscape Character Assessment relate to District Landscape Character Assessments?

The Devon Landscape Character Assessment has been carried out by Devon County Council, working in partnership with District Councils across Devon. The Devon Landscape Character Assessment builds on the District Assessments. The Devon Character Areas clearly relate to the Devon Landscape Character Types and to the District Landscape Character Assessments. However the Devon Character Areas have a special focus on seeing the landscape as a whole. They give emphasis to local identity e.g. landmarks, and to visual and perceptual influences e.g. views. They provide a strategic perspective that may be particularly useful for broad scale planning, management, monitoring etc. The Devon Character Areas also provide an explanation of spatial interactions between different Landscape Character Types e.g. within and around river valleys.


How does the Devon Landscape Character Assessment relate to the National Character Areas?

The Devon Landscape Character Assessment is more detailed than the National Character Areas Assessment. However it has been developed in such a way as to be consistent with that Assessment. Links to the national profiles and integrated objectives are provided. The Devon Character Areas give a more precise indication of where key changes in landscape character occur at a County scale.


What are Devon Character Areas?

Devon Character Areas are unique, geographically-specific areas of landscape. Each Devon Character Area has an individual identity but most Areas comprise a number of different Landscape Character Types. Devon Character Areas are called by a specific place name e.g. ‘High Dartmoor North’.


What are the Devon Landscape Character Types?

The Devon Landscape Character Types are generic landscapes that share similar characteristics but may occur in different parts of Devon. Landscape Character Types allow different landscapes to be compared. Landscape Character Types are called by a descriptive name e.g. ‘Wooded ridges and hilltops’.


What are Land Description Units?

Land Description Units are discrete units of broadly homogeneous land identified according to a set of physical and cultural characteristics. They are defined by a structured process of analysis of different map layers including geology, landform, ground type, land use, settlement pattern and tree cover.


What are National Character Areas?

National Character Areas are broadly similar areas of landscape defined at a national scale. There are 159 National Character Areas in England. Character descriptions for each of the NCAs were produced in the 1990s and published in regional volumes to highlight the influences determining the character of the landscape, for example land cover, buildings and settlements. Natural England is currently working to update the NCA profiles and develop objectives for their future management.


How does the Devon Landscape Character Assessment relate to Historic Landscape Characterisation?

The Devon Character Areas provide a summary of the historic landscape of each area. It is essential to refer to the Historic Landscape Characterisation for a more detailed understanding of the historic landscape. The Devon Historic Landscape Characterisation was a key reference dataset in the production of the Devon Landscape Character Assessment.