Flood Risk Management

Current Legislation

Under the Flood and Water Management Act 2010 all upper tier councils and unitary authorities are now designated as Lead Local Flood Authorities (LLFAs). The Act sets out responsibilities for LLFAs, the Environment Agency and other authorities involved in flood risk management.

The Flood Risk Regulations 2009 transpose the EU Floods Directive 2007 and set out a time table for LLFAs to complete a six year cycle process of assessing local flood risk. The first stage of this is the preparation of a Preliminary Flood Risk Assessment Report. This was completed by the Devon County Council Flood Risk Management Team and can be found here.

               Environment Agency – the competent authority for managing risk from main rivers, the sea and large raised reservoirs.

               Lead Local Flood Authority – responsible for managing local flood risk in particular from ordinary watercourses, surface                runoff and groundwater. In relation to England, the LLFA is the unitary authority for the area, or if there is no unitary                authority, the county council.’

Source: Environment Agency

Flood Risk Legislation Development

Find Out More:

- EU Floods Directive 2007

- The Flood Risk Regulations 2009

- Flood and Water Management Act 2010