Devon Authorities Waste Reduction and Recycling

Committee Agenda

Tue Feb 07 2012

Related Documents:
minutes for this agenda

A meeting of the Devon Authorities Waste Reduction and Recycling Committee will be held on the above date at 2.00pm at County Hall, Exeter to consider the following matters.

P NORREY

Chief Executive

A G E N D A

PART I OPEN COMMITTEE

1. Apologies for Absence

2. Minutes of the meeting held on 26 October 2011, attached (Page 6).

3. Items Requiring Urgent Attention

Items which in the opinion of the Chairman should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency.

4. Budget Statement for 2011/12

Report of the Head of Capital Development and Waste Management (CDW/12/2 - text only | pdf CDW/12/2) giving an update on the budget for 2011/12 up to and including December 2011, attached (Page 13).

Electoral Divisions: All in Devon

5. Recycling Statistics for Quarters 1 2 of 2011/12

Report of the Head of Capital Development and Waste Management (CDW/12/3 - text only | pdf CDW/12/3) presenting a headline summary of the recycling statistics for Devon authorities for the first six months of 2011/12, attached (Page 16).

Electoral Divisions: All in Devon

6. Waste Communications Strategy

Report of the Communications Strategy Project Group (CDW/12/4 - text only | pdf CDW/12/4) on the Waste Management Communications Strategy Action Plan for the Devon Authorities and the results of the Study of Waste Performance in Devon report, attached (Page 35).

Electoral Divisions: All in Devon

7. Glass Contract

Report of the Head of Capital Development and Waste Management (CDW/12/5 - text only | pdf CDW/12/5) on the re-letting of the joint authority glass contract, attached (Page 46).

Electoral Divisions: All in Devon

8. Municipal Waste Management Strategy for Devon

Report of the Head of Capital Development and Waste Management (CDW/12/6 - text only | pdf CDW/12/6) on the background to the proposed review of the Municipal Waste Management Strategy, attached (Page 49).

Electoral Divisions: All in Devon

9. Europe Funding Bid

Report of the Head of Capital Development and Waste Management (CDW/12/7 - text only | pdf CDW/12/7) on a bid for European funding from the Interreg 4a Waste in Action 2 fund, attached (Page 54)

Electoral Divisions: All in Devon

10. Dates of Future Meetings

To note that meetings are scheduled as follows:

Wednesday 20 June 2012

Wednesday 17 October 2012

Friday 15 February 2013

(all 2.00pm at County Hall).

PART II - ITEMS WHICH MAY BE TAKEN IN THE ABSENCE OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

Nil.


Members are reminded that Part II Reports contain confidential information and should therefore be treated accordingly. They should not be disclosed or passed on to any other person(s).

Members are also reminded of the need to dispose of such reports carefully and are therefore urged to return them to the Committee Secretary at the conclusion of the meeting for disposal.

MEMBERS ARE REQUESTED TO SIGN THE ATTENDANCE REGISTER

Membership

Please see overleaf.

Declaration of Interests

Members are reminded that they must declare any interest they may have in any item to be considered at this meeting, prior to any discussion taking place on that item.

Access to Information

Any person wishing to inspect any Minutes, Reports or Background papers relating to any item on this agenda should contact Peter Stiles on 01392 382289.

Agendas, Reports and Minutes of this Committee are published on the County Council s Website at:

http://www.devon.gov.uk/index/councildemocracy/decision_making/cma/index_see.htm

Webcasting of Meetings

The proceedings of this meeting may be recorded for broadcasting on the internet via the County Council s website Information Devon . The whole of the meeting will be broadcast apart from any confidential items which may need to be considered in the absence of the press and public. For more information go to:

http://www.devon.gov.uk/index/councildemocracy/decision_making/webcasting.htm

Emergencies

In the event of the fire alarm sounding, leave the building immediately by the nearest available exit, following the fire exit signs. If doors fail to unlock press the Green breakglass next to the door. Do not stop to collect personal belongings, do not use the lifts, do not re-enter the building until told to do so.

Mobile Phones

Please switch off all mobile phones before entering the Committee Room or Council Chamber

If you need a copy of this Agenda and/or a Report in another format (e.g. large print, audio tape, Braille or other languages), please contact the Information Centre on 01392 380101 or email to: centre@devon.gov.uk or write to the Democratic and Scrutiny Secretariat at County Hall, Exeter, EX2 4QD.

Induction loop system available



Devon County Council

Email address

Voting/non-voting member

Officer

Email address

Councillor J Berry

John.berry@devon.gov.uk

Voting Member

Wendy Barratt

Mrs L Jarvis

Wendy.barratt@devon.gov.uk

liz.jarvis@devon.gov.uk

Councillor M Walters

Mike.walters@devon.gov.uk

Voting Member

Wendy Barratt

Mrs L Jarvis

Wendy.barratt@devon.gov.uk

liz.jarvis@devon.gov.uk

Councillor G Hook

Gordon.Hook@devon.gov.uk

Voting Member

Wendy Barratt

Mrs L Jarvis

Wendy.barratt@devon.gov.uk

liz.jarvis@devon.gov.uk

Unitary Councils

Councillor D Thomas (Torbay)

david.thomas@torbay.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mrs C Arthur

carol.arthur@torbay.gov.uk

Councillor I Gordon (Plymouth)

ian.gordon@plymouth.gov.uk

Voting Member

Ms L Schamotta

laura.schamotta@plymouth.gov.uk

Councillor Michael Leaves (Plymouth)

Michael.leaves@plymouth.gov.uk

Voting Member

Ms L Schamotta

laura.schamotta@plymouth.gov.uk

District Councils

Councillor R Cann (N Devon)

Rodney.Cann@northdevon.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mrs L Isaac

Lesley.isaac@northdevon.gov.uk

Councillor G Sheldon (Exeter)

cllr.greg.sheldon@exeter.gov.uk

Voting Member

Ms P Lane

Penelope.lane@exeter.gov.uk

Councillor K Lake (Teignbridge)

Kevin.lake@teignbridge.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mr C Braines

chris.braines@teignbridge.gov.uk

Councillor C Leather (Torridge)

Cllr.leather@torridge.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mr R Haste

Richard.haste@torridge.gov.uk

Councillor M Lucas (M Devon)

mlucas@middevon.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mr S Hill

sphill@middevon.gov.uk

Councillor J Hawkins (S Hams)

Cllr.Hawkins@southhams.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mr A Barron

Andy.barron@southhams.gov.uk

Councillor R Oxborough (W Devon)

cllr.robert.oxborough@westdevon.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mr A Barron

abarron@westdevon.gov.uk

Councillor D Cox (E Devon)

dcox@eastdevon.gov.uk

Voting Member

Mr P Deakin

pdeakin@eastdevon.gov.uk

Devon Association of Parish Councils

Cllr R Hawes

'rhawes46@hotmail.com'

Non Voting Member

DCRN

Mr R Gomme

info@dcrn.org.uk

Non Voting Member

Environment Agency

Ann Riley

ann.riley@environment-agency.gov.uk

Non Voting Member

Revised 30-Jan-12


Date Published: Mon Jan 30 2012